The P of Pretention

by Babushka

What’s with random people and their sudden love for DSLR cameras?? I just don’t get it!

It’s like the word DSLR has become inseparable from the lives of every living soul! There’s this new (and mad) craze to acquire one, like if you didn’t own one, you’d not be worth showing your face to or being a part of this world! And what really really irks me is that it’s this new breed of people who know squat about photography and the nuances of using a camera who are suddenly so gaga over a DSLR! Wow, I’ve a Canon, wow I’ve a Nikon – watch me, I’m so cool!

It’s become this mad status symbol, this prized possession that just sits in its fancy comes-along-free-with-the camera bag and gathers dust! I know of at least half a dozen friends who went all out and bought (or had someone buy) some real expensive stuff which now lays forgotten somewhere! I mean what’s with people and their need to constantly show off?! Or have something that they have perhaps used just once and have no use of otherwise!? I hope I’m mistaken about the showing off bit, because then it’d just be very very sad.

And I wish people would get over the magic of focus! A camera’s got more to it than just focusing on one drop of water out of a million!! I now know (a little bit) about how a true fan of anything feels over pretentious oohs and aahs, of a pure love being diluted by everything money can buy and of feeling so invaded about something that is so precious and dear.

I wish art were given a chance for once! For once!